East Arnhem Regional Council (EARC) was formed in under the Local Government Act (NT) 2008 to provide core Local Government Services to nine remote communities of Arnhem Land: Milingimbi, Ramingining, Galiwin’ku, Gapuwiyak, Yirrkala, Gunyangara, Umbakumba, Angurugu and Milyakburra.

East Arnhem Regional Council is situated in the far north-eastern corner of the Northern Territory mainland covering a land mass of approximately 33,359km2. The Council comprises of 9 major remote communities, many homelands & outstations commercial enterprises such as Tourism, 2 Mining leases and pastoral properties scattered throughout the Council area.

Five of our nine communities are located on islands which exacerbates the remoteness and challenges of providing services to our constituents.  Six of our Communities are recognised Remote Service Delivery Sites by the Commonwealth and another is recognised as a NT Government Territory Growth Town.

With the strength of our Elected Members, Executive Leadership, Local Authorities and staff, EARC is working towards constructive changes through a commitment to providing high quality services leading to community, economic and social wellbeing.

Through the creation of quality training and an inclusive workplace, EARC is working with the communities to develop critical pathways for employment and building capacity, knowledge and strength assisting to empower people through the acquisition of skills and personal development.

East Arnhem Regional Council also delivers a range of vital services that extend into community services & commercial services which support ongoing sustainability of communities, quality of life, employment and, provision of basic services that no other organisations deliver in our communities. 

Organisation structure

Office of Chief Executive Officer

  • Advocacy and Representation
  • Governance
  • Public and Corporate Relations
  • Customer Relationship Management

Director Council Services

  • Cemetery Management
  • Local & Advisory Boards and Committees
  • Administration of Local Laws
  • Local Emergency Management
  • Maintenance and Upgrade of Council controlled parks, reserves and open spaces
  • Community / Civic Events
  • Weed Control and Fire Hazard Reduction
  • Community Safety
  • Community Management

Director Technical Services

  • Lighting for Public Safety
  • Companion animal welfare control
  • Local Road Maintenance
  • Waste Management
  • Landfill policy development & licensing
  • Local Road Upgrade and Construction
  • Traffic Management on local roads
  • Fleet and Plant Management
  • Maintenance & upgrade of Council buildings, facilities and fixed assets
  • Information Technology & Communications

Director Commercial & Agency Services

  • Aged and Disability Service
  • Children and Family Services
  • Youth Sport and Recreation
  • Community Media
  • Money Business
  • Mechanical Workshops
  • Fuel Distribution Service
  • Post Office Agencies
  • Visitor Accommodation
  • Economic Development & Local Commercial Opportunities
  • Executive Services Leadership - Commercial and Agency
  • Arts & Culture
  • Library & Cultura Heritage

Chief Financial & Operations Officer

  • Council Reporting
  • Financial Growth
  • Revenue Growth
  • Records management
  • Human Resources management
  • Risk management
  • Training and Employment of Local People in Council Operations