2017 NT Council Elections

This year, residents across East Arnhem Land who are 18yrs of age and over, are required to vote in the NT Council Elections. These elections are your chance to chose who you want to represent your community on the East Arnhem Regional Council. There are six [6] wards with a total of 14 Councillors elected to represent you. Here you can find all the info you need about enrolling to vote, nominating as a candidate, and the actual voting process

Information for Candidates

Any person wanting to become a candidate for the 2017 NT Council elections must lodge a correctly completed nomination form before the close of nominations at 12noon on Thursday 3 August 2017.

The declaration of nominations will take place on Friday 4 August 2017 at 12:00 noon in Alice Springs and Darwin. If more candidates are nominated than there are vacancies, an election must be held and the draw for positions on ballot papers then takes place.

Vacancies exist for an elected principle member (all municipal councils and some regional councils) and/or for ‘ordinary’ council members.

For more information on eligibility, nominations, campaigning and loads more - visit the NT Electoral Commission website.

ENROL NOW to vote

Voting in the NT Council Elections is compulsory. The electoral roll closes on Tuesday 25 July at 5pm which means you need to ensure all of your information is updated by then. If you have turned 18yrs of age since the last election you will need to ensure you are enrolled to vote. You can check your enrolment status at the East Arnhem Regional Council Office in your community or head online to check yourself.


Mobile voting

Mobile voting is conducted over a number of days leading up to election day in remote locations across East Arnhem Land. Small teams of electoral officials travel to the locations scheduled to be visited.

Mobile voting services operate according to advertised dates and times to allow electors to vote during the 12 days before election day and up to 6:00 pm on election day itself.

The voting times for mobile voting vary according to the number of electors to be serviced. Wherever possible, itineraries for mobile voting teams are drawn up taking into account elector movements and any identified voting times and dates for the locations concerned.

Mobile voting locations and times will be available closer to the election.

Election day voting centres

This year the NT Council Elections will take place on Saturday 26 August 2017.

Election day voting centres are appointed in locations where significant numbers of electors are enrolled and a full day of voting is appropriate.  Voting centres on election day open from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm.

A list of election day voting centres will be available closer to election time.

It is compulsory for all people over 18yrs of age to vote in the election. 

Listen & Watch

The NT Electoral Commission has created a series of resources in your language on voting enrolling and voting. You will find them all below.

English - Audio

Yolngu Matha - Audio

Anindilyawka - Audio


More Information

For more information visit the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website for the 2017 NT Council Elections