On 1 July 2014, changes to the Local Government Act (NT) 2008 required that all Regional Councils establish and maintain a Local Authority at the towns and communities within the Regional Council area.

Within East Arnhem a total of nine (9) Local Authorities have been established, replacing Community Advisory Boards (CABs) which were previously recognised under the Local Government Act (NT) 2008. Local Authorities will continue the vital work that CABs were playing in the consultation process of Local Government in East Arnhem Region.

The Local Authorities will act as the voice of communities, empowering local representatives, informing Elected Members & Stakeholders and respecting the cultural structures and complexity of traditional society.

Local Authorities (LA) were officially operational on 1 July 2014, with each Local Authority having between six (6) and fourteen (14) ordinary members. A minimum of six (6) Local Authority meetings must be conducted each calendar year. Structured meetings provide a platform and opportunities for community to advise and direct Council. One board, one voice.

Whilst the methodology of each Local Authority remains consistent across East Arnhem communities, LAs function on the basis that each community is different historically, structurally, politically and developmentally. Demonstrated respect for the predisposing social environments in each community has ensured active participation in refinement of practical solutions and best outcomes for their communities.

East Arnhem Regional Council believes that the LAs are essential forums for community engagement and play a pivotal role in creating and sustaining an informed administrative environment.



EARC have requested that ALL ORGANISATIONS submit a 'request to present at a Local Authority meeting' in order to present at any of our 9 Local Authority meetings. This info must be provided at least 10 days prior to the meeting. 

Download Request to attend a meeting form and return to: Rebecca.Parsonage@eastarnhem.nt.gov.au